Love Yourself First

Published January 28, 2015 by christinista

Not too long ago I posted about celibacy and dating, soon after I began to think… I feel that women want security, love, and closure from a man to feel happy, validated, and complete in life. Not that those things are wrong for wanting but I just don’t think that a woman should put all her hopes, dreams and focus on a man to make her feel whole.
Shortly after I was at Bible study and I made an announcement. I am now a Bride of Christ! (Not really, I am not Catholic nor do I live in a convent, but using the same concept) I have decided that I’m going to be in a committed relationship with myself and Jesus. I do not feel like dating is good for me right now. I need to find myself and who I am, without a man defining me. I would like to go on journeys alone to rediscover the things that make ME happy. I need to be so secure with ME so the next time a male does come along and I find interest in him I know that I will not compromise or cut myself short just in fear of losing a “good catch”.  Not only will I find myself, I will be moving closer to God. I need to be in a committed relationship with Him until I feel I am ready to start one on my own. This is sort of like a fast lol, so I know I will need to call on Jesus more on certain days like Valentine’s day or birthdays, whatever the occasion, I am sure I will have my low days. Like with all fasts, the devil will swoop in and tempt us usually it’s with chocolate or a hamburger but in my case I am sure it will be man hahaha. With that being said I will be forced to delevop a strong relationship with God (no complaints here).
Since I am a woman and we love to shop lol, I have  also went out and bought myself an engagement (aka my new abstinence) ring. Some women want the ring more than the guy or the relationship hahaha,  I guess it’s okay in my case. I will also be taking myself on a mini vacation or staycation as well as dates. I know all of this sounds corny but it’s what I want to do with myself to make myself feel validated and loved by ME and not by another person. We expect men to do it for us all the time, why not treat yourself? This post is NOT a “Anti Men”,  “Male Bashing”,  “Pro Feminist I don’t need a man I am a business woman” type of post, it is simply about loving yourself first. If there are any women out there going through a similar journey please comment below and tell me how it’s going. Until next time…
xoxo
the Christinista

image

A picture of my new ring

Leave a comment